Brunch babies

Living in NY, the best meal of the week is undoubtedly…SUNDAY BRUNCH. Drink specials, good grub, and catch-ups with friends.  Take note: brunch in NY isn’t limited to “brunch hours.”  It lasts til about 4pm, and even 8pm at some places. Can we say day-rage?  Sunday in NY is the ultimate FUNDAY.

After an emotionally draining trip home to LA for my grandmother’s wake and funeral, I returned yesterday morning feeling like sh*t, to say the least.  I wasn’t happy to be back at all as I felt the necessary fam time was cut short.  But alas, the fantastic Mr. L suggested we hit Essex for brunch and the Jets/Colts game.  As soon as we sat down, I had a smile on my face and was feeling like I was home again. Brunch & football…don’t mind if I do!

People, Essex is the TRUTH.  $18 for some slammin’ food and unlimited mimosas, screwdrivers, or bloody marys.  To give you an idea of their menu, we had the baked eggs over crispy ham w/ home fries and greens, as well as smoked salmon over potato pancakes with greens and scrambled eggs. YOWZA.  I don’t have pictures of anything as I was a little dazed, but I’ll snap some next time!

www.essexnyc.com

Leave a comment